Thierry Berlier

PRESENTATION

My current work which has just started, is radically and definitively orientated towards a style of painting close to calligraphy. Traces of this can already be found in my inks present on the site and unlike the paintings of 2016 and 2017 where the skyline was omnipresent, here I free myself from this space in order to somehow arrive in the heart of this horizon world.

I like to confront myself to the silence of the white canvas and its powerful and virginal brightness and then create a dance of more or less abstract signs.

The important thing is the commitment of the body, particularly the movements of the wrist in a movement-gesture that I try to live as authentically as possible.

I love this approach where there is no possibility of repentance and where the painting is realised in a few gestures, a little like haikus where the poet suddenly improvises his poem according to the inspiration of the moment, which him gives an exemplary freshness and modernity.

In the end, these signs trigger a musical phrase, moreover I stretch the canvas to its maximum to feel all the variations of the stroke as I press lightly or strongly and in order to live all these vibrations internally.

This painting is intentionally stripped down: it is by an inner necessity that I made the decision to go straight to the essentials, to the breath and the vital impulse.

Thierry Berlier

PRESENTATION

Mon travail actuel qui vient de débuter, s'oriente radicalement et définitivement vers une peinture proche de la calligraphie. Il y avait déjà des prémisses que l'on peut retrouver dans mes encres présentes sur le site et contrairement aux peintures de 2016 et 2017 où la ligne d'horizon était omniprésente, ici je m'affranchis de cet espace pour arriver en quelque sorte au coeur de cet horizon-monde.

J'aime me confronter au silence de la toile blanche et à sa luminosité puissante et virginale pour ensuite y créer une danse de signes plus ou moins abstraits.

L'important c'est l'engagement du corps, particulièrement les mouvements du poignet dans un mouvement-geste que j'essaie d'habiter le plus authentiquement possible.

J'adore cette démarche où il n'y a pas de possibilité de repentir et où la peinture s'exécute en quelques gestes, un peu à la manière haïku où le poète improvise soudainement son poème selon l'inspiration du moment, ce qui lui confère une fraîcheur et une modernité exemplaires.

Au final, ces signes déclenchent une phrase musicale, d'ailleurs je tends au maximum la toile afin de ressentir toutes les variations du tracé selon que j'appuie légèrement ou fortement et de vivre intérieurement toutes ces vibrations.

Cette peinture est volontairement dépouillée : c'est par une nécessité intérieure que j'ai pris cette décision d'aller droit à l'essentiel, au souffle et à l'élan vital.