Thierry Berlier

BIOGRAPHY

Thierry Berlier was born in 1963 in Brussels, where he currently resides.

His life, which essentially oriented towards painting, is punctuated by pictorial silences that have at their heart a respect of the will of the work, with its sudden and sometimes dazzling inspirations, but also its fallow periods, which are essential for those who wish to preserve the authenticity of the creative breath.

It is by continuing to dialogue with the past that he creates new paths of exploration, rich in secular memory.

On the other hand, his approach is designed to speak to the senses. The painting is conceived here as a dance, a choreography, both for itself as an executor and for the person to whom it is given to look at the canvas that results from it.

For the past few years there has been a very significant turning point in his approach. It is none other than the result of a real encounter with Chinese painting, where one does not distinguish the notions of abstraction and figuration, and where pictorial writing almost parallels calligraphy. Due to this his technique has become more contemplative.

It is in this sense that he continues to create, as evidenced by the series of paintings developed in 2018, in which we can see and almost touch a liberation, enlightening, at the same time an individuation: that of a work that has found its way and which travels in self-evident joy.

Thierry Berlier

BIOGRAPHIE

Point n'est besoin de comprendre les idéogrammes chinois pour saisir la beauté en mouvement et atteindre ce que Sénèque appelait "la tranquillité de l'âme".

Fabienne Verdier

Thierry Berlier est né en 1963 à Bruxelles, où il réside actuellement.

Sa vie, orientée pour l'essentiel vers la peinture, se voit ponctuée de silences picturaux qui ont à coeur de respecter la volonté de l'oeuvre, avec ses inspirations soudaines et parfois fulgurantes, mais aussi ses périodes de jachère indispensables pour qui souhaite conserver l'authenticité du souffle créateur.

C'est en continuant à dialoguer avec le passé qu'il crée des voies d'exploration neuves, mais riches cependant d'une mémoire séculaire.

D'autre part, sa démarche se donne pour vocation de parler aux sens. La peinture est ici conçue comme une danse, une chorégraphie, tant pour lui-même en tant qu'exécutant que pour celui à qui il est donné de regarder la toile qui en découle.

Un tournant très marquant s'est opéré dans son approche depuis quelques années. Il n'est autre que le résultat d'une véritable rencontre avec la peinture chinoise, où l'on ne distingue pas les notions d'abstraction et de figuration, et où l'écriture picturale voisine presque avec la calligraphie. Sa pratique est devenue de ce fait plus contemplative.

C'est dans ce sens qu'il continue à créer actuellement, comme en témoignent la série de tableaux élaborés en 2018, dans lesquels on peut voir et presque toucher du doigt une libération, un allègement, en même temps qu'une individuation : celle d'une oeuvre qui a trouvé sa route et qui chemine dans une évidente allégresse.